Monday, May 08, 2006

The Bengals - 1st District Theory

Whenever the Bengals are good, Democrats get elected to the 1st District. Whenever the Bengals are bad, Republicans get elected. Notice the pattern?



The Bengals appeared in their first Super Bowl appearance. Democrat Tom Luken’s reign in office begins; in fact, 1982 was the first time in 18 years that a Democrat was elected there.


Democrats hold the 1st District seat for 10 years. This is also the best ten years in Bengals history, including 2 Super Bowl appearances, the victorious Freezer Bowl, 3 Division championships, an AFC championship, numerous Kenny Anderson and Boomer Esiason throwing records, and the career of the only Bengal player in the Hall of Fame, Anthony Munoz.


Republicans hold the 1st District seat for 11 years. Bengals never win a division title until 2005, they never win an AFC title, and they never appear at the Super Bowl. Their average win/loss ratio during this period is 5:10.


DCCC targets the 1st District race that many call only slightly Republican. The Bengals are expected to kick butt.

Therefore, if the theory holds true, and the Bengals kick butt next season, it looks like a Cranley win. I guess the 2006 race will be determined by Carson Palmer’s knee.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home